“We must be willing to let go of the life we’ve planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” —Joseph Campbell

This is a quote I like to keep in mind, especially while I’m traveling. It seems whenever I bother to make plans, the Universe always tears them apart.

My plan: spend a few days exploring Death Valley National Park solo, then head south to visit Joshua Tree National Park for a second time with a friend I met in New Mexico.

What actually happened:

I arrived in Death Valley after dark on October 21. While descending into the valley, I drove along the edge of a steep cliff, but couldn’t see anything through the dark. I knew I was somewhere incredible.

I stayed in a free campground inside the park boundaries, which is pretty rare as far as National Parks go. When I woke in the morning, I was not disappointed. I found myself surrounded by mountains on all sides, and I could see for miles in all directions.

20161022_081231
Waking up in Emigrant Campground, one of Death Valley National Park’s free campgrounds. FAITH MECKLEY

Death Valley has some incredible geology at play. The valley is sinking at about the same rate as it is filling with debris from the eroding mountains. At 282 feet below sea level, Badwater Basin is the deepest place in the entire western hemisphere, displaying marvelous salt crystals from an ancient seabed. The sand dunes within the park are the ground up remains of mountains and are shaped by impressively strong winds.

From the main road, you will only scratch the surface of the park. For vehicles with high clearance and four-wheel drive, the park is practically infinite. Before Death Valley was added to the National Park System, it was a popular off-roading recreation area. When it became a park, the NPS compromised with the off-roaders, agreeing to keep all existing roads but preventing any new ones from being made.

20161022_110400
The view from the park’s main road in between Stovepipe Wells and Furnace Creek. FAITH MECKLEY

On my second day in the park, I decided on a whim to drive through Titus Canyon, which features a ghost town called Leadfield about halfway through. The official park service map said that high clearance was “recommended” but did not mention four-wheel drive. When I actually arrived at the entrance of the one-way road, there was sign contradicting the map that said four-wheel drive was indeed recommended. I decided to take my chances.

Looking back, I don’t regret driving through Titus Canyon. It is one of the most incredible drives I have ever been on, and exploring Leadfield was a unique experience. I had to drive very slow and deliberately, and my van did bottom out in some places. But I made it, seemingly without any issues. I did notice that my shift stick was jammed up a bit. I assumed it was something that would clear up on its own once I got back on better roads.

This was not the case.

I was on my way to my campsite for the night, and planned to drive to Joshua Tree early the next morning. I stopped and put my van in park so I could read a sign, and then when I tried to put it back into drive, my shift stick dropped straight down. It was disconnected from the transmission. Fortunately, I was within sight of the park’s main road and was able to flag down a couple of young men who took me to an emergency phone.

I sat on top of my van for several hours waiting for a park ranger who never came and struggling to hold a cell signal for long enough to talk to my mom and a Geico representative. Eventually, we were able to get a tow, and I arrived at a repair shop after midnight. It wasn’t until we arrived that I realized I had left my wallet in Death Valley on top of the pay phone I used to call for help.

20161023_215506
Getting towed out of Death Valley in the middle of the night. FAITH MECKLEY

I spent nearly all of the Oct. 24 at the repair shop in Ridgecrest, about 100 miles outside of the park. The chord connecting my shift stick to the transmission had severed. While they searched for the right part, I told my friend I would meet her in Joshua Tree later that night. A random stranger messaged me on Instagram to tell me her husband had found my wallet and he would be able to bring it to Ridgecrest after work.

Given the option between waiting for two days for the correct chord and making a modification to the chord that didn’t quite fit, I chose the modification so I could leave Ridgecrest sooner. The kind stranger messaged me again to tell me her husband had been called into Nevada for work overnight and would not be able to bring the wallet to me after all. So I resolved myself to driving through the night to get my wallet and then go all the way to Joshua Tree.

When I arrived at the gift shop where the man had turned in my wallet, the employees were unable to find it. They eventually realized that, because it hadn’t been found on their property, the manager had turned it over to the park rangers, who proceeded to lock it up in the visitor’s center for the night. I drove to the visitor’s center in hopes someone would be there to get it for me, but it was after hours and the chances of finding help were slim.

While backing into a parking space at the visitor’s center, the modified chord came undone from the transmission, and I was unable to shift my van. Again. I was now stuck in Death Valley and blocking the roadway for half of the parking lot. Frustrated and in tears, I called for a tow and scheduled for it to arrive at 8 a.m. I wasn’t going to leave again without my wallet.

My friend, who was waiting in Joshua Tree, decided to come to Death Valley. This time, I would stay in the park while my van was towed out, and the two of us would go play in Death Valley while we waited for the repairs to finish (correctly, and free of charge). I recovered my wallet when the visitor’s center opened in the morning. All of my cash and cards were intact.

I didn’t end up leaving the Death Valley area until Oct. 29, and I scrapped my plans for Joshua Tree and headed to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks instead. Despite all the frustration, the time the two of us ended up spending together in Death Valley will remain as a highlight of this entire year of travels. I’ll let the pictures tell that story.

20161026_144853
My friend Aria and I agree that the view from Aguereberry Point is better than Dante’s View, not to mention less crowded. FAITH MECKLEY
20161026_165825
The hike to Darwin Falls, a tiny desert oasis tucked away in a canyon, is short and sweet.

Lessons learned:

Don’t rush vehicle repairs.

Come to Death Valley prepared. With the heat and the rough roads, mechanical issues with vehicles are common. Even once my friend rescued me in her brand new pick up truck, we had to change a flat tire when we attempted to do a rerun of Titus Canyon.

Let life be.

20161029_153354
Despite skipping out on Joshua Tree National Park, I saw lots of the lovely little trees along Route 14 as I headed north. This one is my new favorite. FAITH MECKLEY
6 thoughts on “The Death Valley debacle

  1. Quite the adventure! Glad you made it out okay.

    I just came across your social sphere and I’m glad I did. You’re leading and awesome life and I hope to be doing that soon myself (except on the water).

    Keep up the adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The problem with destinations is that once a person chooses one, all she can do is go there. Like they say though, traveling is about the journey, not the destination. When the van breaks down, that is just an interesting part of the journey and you probably should have slowed down and enjoyed it. Heck, you have all the time in the world and traveling slow is better and costs less than traveling fast. Having a destination is a curse on a traveler.

    I once spent a year going around the world. I went slower and slower and wandered more the longer I was away. Getting from Jakarta to Bali on buses was way better than flying. Once, when the bus I was on broke down in the Himalayan foothills, I had a wonderful day with villagers who never spent time with tourists because their village was unremarkable. The village wasn’t interesting but the people were.

    In the motorcycle travel book “Jupiter’s Travels” I recall a section where the bike breaks down in a remote desert. I should read the book again but I think it was Afghanistan or Pakistan or someplace like that. There is nothing but sand and rock as far as can been seen in any direction. There is no place he can walk to and survive with the water he has. Since there is nothing to do, he does nothing. Eventually, people appear and he manages to solve his problems.

    I took economics in college and I learned to do the usual calculations and comparisons but the one thing the professor said that has always stuck with me is to never forget that do nothing is always an option. What I learned from Jupiter’s Travels and my own travels was just that; do nothing until a good or hopefully the best course of action presents itself. Spend the do nothing time watching carefully so you don’t miss the good course of action when it presents itself. In fact, I have found that I have to consciously force myself to stop and watch for the best course of action when things go wrong. There is no situation in life that panic can improve.

    In the late 70’s I bought an old van and my girlfriend and I went on the road. One day on a dirt road in a remote part of northern Idaho the van died with a clatter and small explosion. Since the van wouldn’t run, we decided that the first and most important thing to do was camp on the spot until the perishable food was consumed so that it wouldn’t go to waste. No people came by but in the course of a few days I figured out that what I had thought was a fatal condition wasn’t completely so and devised a work around to get us going with more smoke than usual. In the meantime we had fun drinking all the beer and eating all the bacon.

    Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

